The Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize medal, was modeled by the Norwegian sculptor Gustav Vigeland, and is a part of the prize, which includes a personal diploma, the medal, and sum of money, currently (in 2010) 10 million Swedish kroner (SEK).

As most people know, The Nobel Peace Prize is an international prize, awarded each year by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

The committe of five persons, is appointed by the Norwegian Storting (parliament), and the guidelines to the Prize are set in the last will of Alfred Nobel.

The Nobel Peace Prize 2014

Photo: ©Anthony Behar/Sipa USA/NTB scanpix
Photo: ©AP Photo/Bernat Armangue/NTB scanpix

The Nobel Peace Prize for 2014 was awarded to Malala Yousafzay from Pakistan and Kailash Satyarthi from India, for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.
The Norwegian Nobel Commitee awarded these two between 278 suggested candidates this year. 47 of the suggested candidates were organizations.

278 is the highest number of candidates ever. The previous record was 259 from 2013.

The Prize was awarded at a ceremony in Oslo on December 10, and the following day, on December 11, the 21 annual Nobel Peace Prize Concert was held to honor the Nobel Peace Prize Laureates 2014.


The Nobel Peace Prize 2013

The Nobel Peace Prize 2013 was awarded to OPCW, the organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons.

This is the implementing body of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC), which was established in 1997.  OPCW has 189 Member States, all working together to achieve a world free from chemical weapons.

Want to know more about the OPCW, look here.

The Nobel Peace Prize 2012

The Nobel Prize winner 2012 was the European Union for it's contribution over more than six decades to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe.

On Sunday December 9. there was a press conference at the Nobel Institute with the official representatives of this year’s Peace Prize laureate.

On Monday December 10. the Peace Prize for 2012 was awarded in Oslo City Hall at 1:00 pm. The Nobel Banquet took place at Grand Hotel in Oslo at 7:00 pm the same day.

The Nobel Peace Prize 2011

Nobel Peace Prize Winners Photo: Scanpix

These were the winners of the Nobel Peace Price 2011:

Liberian President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, Liberian peace activist Leymah Gbowee og Tawakkol Karman who has played an important role in the fight for democracy and womens rights in Yemen. Photo: Scanpix, Afp, Reuters

The Norwegian Nobel Committee

Thorbjørn Jagland, Chairman of the Nobel Committee.

Jagland has been President of the Norwegian Parliament, Norwegian Prime Minister, Foreign Minister, and member of the Parliament.

He is appointed for the Nobel Committee for the years 2009 - 2014.

Kaci Kullmann Five, Deputy Chair of the Nobel Committee.

Kullman Five has been member of the Norwegian Parliament, Cabinet Minister for Trade, Shipping and Foreign Affairs, and she has been Chairman of the Conservative Party.

She has been member of the Nobel Committee since 2003. She has now been reappointed for the years 2009 - 2014.

Inger-Marie Ytterhorn, Member of the Nobel Committee.

Ytterhorn has been member of the Norwegian Parliament.

She has been member of the Nobel Committee since 2000, and is now reappointed for the years 2012 - 2017.

Berit Reiss-Andersen

Member of the Committee since 2012, appointed for the period 2012-2017.

Gunnar Stålsett

Member of the Norwegian Nobel Committee 1985-90, 1994-2002 and from 2012.
(Member during Ågot Valle's sick leave).

Ågot Valle, Member of the Nobel Committee. (Sick leave)

She has been member of the Norwegian Parliament and President of the Odelsting.

She has been member of the Nobel Committee since 2009, and is appointed for the years 2009 - 2011.

Alfred Nobel

Alfred Nobel was born on October 21. 1833 in Stockholm, Sweden, and died on December 10. 1896 in San Remo, Italy.

He was the inventor of dynamite, and also the owner of the Bofors Company, that had a huge production of different armaments. Alfred Nobel held as many as 355 different patents, from which dynamite was the most famous.

The Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize is recognized as "the most prestigious prize in the World", but each of the Nobel Prizes are known as the most prestigous in their fields.

Each year, on December 10., the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded at a ceremony in the Oslo City Hall. This is the same date which Alfred Nobel died in 1896.The number of valid nominations for the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize has reached a number of 241 different individuals and organizations.

This is a "all time high" when it comes to nominations to the Peace Prize, while the previous record is from 2010 and was 237 different candidates.

Other Nobel Prizes

The Nobel Peace Prize is maybe the most well known by the Nobel prizes, but there are also several other prizes after the will of Alfred Nobel.

The prizes in Physics and Chemistry is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Science in Stockholm, Sweden, while the Nobel Prizes in physiology and medicine are awarded by the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet in Sweden.

The Nobel Prize in literature is awarded by The Swedish Academy. In 1901 the first prizes in chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and physics was awarded. Source:

Read more about Alfred Nobel and the prizes.

Back from our Nobel Peace Prize page to learn more about Norway

Norwegian Christmas

Take a look now

Norwegian Christmas

Norwegian Names

Learn about

Norwegian Names

Get my ebook

The Old Norwegian Glass Fishing Floats

or read more first ...

Check our glass float web-pages

On December 11th 2014 the annual Nobel Peace Prize concert will be held in Oslo.